Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy Game Soundtrack is Jam-Packed
Comic Years Logo

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy Game Soundtrack is Jam-Packed

author img
BY October 13, 2021

So much of Guardians of the Galaxy pulls from popular culture. The way in which music and other media imprint on our psyche is immediately relatable. Peter Quill holding music to such a high value in his mind and heart makes sense. The things that pull us back in time to happier, familiar places are always there for us thanks to music. There’s no denying that Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy is going all-out for its game soundtrack judging from the released tracklist. Yeah, the game is likely going to be a blast. I’m honestly just happy they’re putting so much effort into honoring the 80s nostalgia for the game as they do in the MCU. Let’s look at the soundtrack and decide which tracks are going to make us “Turn Up The Radio.”

Here’s the Full Game Soundtrack for Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy

Marvels Guardians of the Galaxy Game Soundtrack Image Credit: Square Enix

From revealing Cosmo to some killer game trailers, my hype is full steam ahead for the release of Square Enix’s Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy. I’m fully aware that Marvel’s Avengers didn’t quite live up to the hype. Despite its issues, the game did a few things well. Firstly, it utilized cutscenes to really well to tell a good story. Additionally, the combat didn’t fail players; it simply didn’t offer enough variation over time. These are things that the next Marvel game can address and I’m hoping it does.

Of course, gameplay is only part of the concern for a Guardians game. Without a killer soundtrack, the game wouldn’t feel quite right. Well, we don’t have to worry about that, my friends. Here’s the full 80s-fueled game soundtrack for Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy:

  • Blondie – Call Me
  • Blue Oyster Cult – Don’t Fear The Reaper
  • Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy
  • Hot Chocolate – Every 1’s A Winner
  • Wang Chung – Everybody Have Fun Tonight
  • Tears For Fears – Everybody Wants To Rule The World
  • EUROPE – The Final Countdown
  • New Kids on the Block – Hangin’ Tough
  • Pat Benatar – Hit Me With Your Best Shot
  • Bonnie Tyler – Holding Out for a Hero
  • KISS – I Love It Loud
  • A Flock of Seagulls – I Ran
  • Culture Club – I’ll Tumble 4 Ya
  • Mötley Crüe – Kickstart My Heart
  • Simple Minds – Love Song
  • Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up
  • Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Relax
  • Def Leppard – Rock Rock Till You Drop
  • Rainbow – Since You Been Gone
  • A-ha – Take On Me
  • Soft Cell – Tainted Love
  • Loverboy – Turn Me Loose
  • Autograph – Turn Up the Radio
  • Wham! – Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go
  • Scandal featuring Patty Smyth – The Warrior
  • Starship – We Built This City
  • Twisted Sister – We’re Not Gonna Take It
  • Billy Idol – White Wedding

The Final Countdown…to Release Day

Overall, I’m really happy with the lineup of tunes. There are some true 80s gems on this list. The idea of kicking some alien ass to “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” is enough to sell me on the game. Speaking of selling, you’ll see your favorite game shop or big box store selling this game soon. With a launch trailer released, we’re truly in the endgame now. Couldn’t resist, sorry about that one.

It’s worth noting that another great game with 80s music, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, is getting a major remake treatment. A Grand Theft Auto Trilogy remaster was confirmed by Rockstar last week. Not to mention, some pretty huge Guardians MCU news broke yesterday: Will Poulter was cast as Adam Warlock in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3. We don’t know if Warlock shows up in the Square Enix game, but we’ll get to find out soon.

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy releases for PS4 and PS5, Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S, PC, and Nintendo Switch via Cloud Gaming on October 26. If you’re loving what you see from the game soundtrack, then let us know if you’re excited for this release in the comments! Thanks for reading Comic Years for all things gaming, comics, and pop culture.

Featured Image Credit: Square Enix


Taylor loves to play video games in his spare time. He has two degrees in Political Communication and wrote his thesis on Marxism and the exploitation of college athletes. In his spare time, he loves spending time with his wife and two Toy Australian Shepherds. He’s always got headphones in, and he’s a diehard Cubs fan.

Guardians of the GalaxyMarvelMarvel's AvengersSquare Enix

Leave a comment


PS5 2020 Release Date Coming Later This Year

Rumors have been swirling about the PS5 2020 release date and a timetable for the new console. It looks like that may be delayed a bit further down 2019’s calendar now that Sony has announced […]

BY Taylor Bauer March 22, 2019
Xbox Games With Gold Choices For April Still Available

Star Wars: Republic Commando is no longer available for Xbox Games with Gold. The good news is three options are still up for grabs. Xbox Games with Gold is a perk for having Xbox Live. […]

BY Taylor Bauer March 25, 2019
New Xbox One X Incoming: E3 Preview

There are a lot of rumors circling Microsoft’s press conference at E3. For years, Microsoft has led the charge in innovation for gaming consoles. Microsoft always delivers some unexpected surprises.  The Xbox One X, the […]

BY Taylor Bauer March 29, 2019

Rail Ad Editorial Content

Rail Ad

error: Copyright Protection