Kickstarter Bookshop Will Help Promote Indie Graphic Novels and More
Comic Years Logo

Kickstarter And Bookshop Joining Together To Promote Indie Graphic Novels

author img
BY March 18, 2021

Some of the best graphic novels began as Kickstarter campaigns, but rarely do we see them in our local bookshop. Or on Amazon, for that matter. However, we might see one of those problems start going away. Bookshop and Kickstarter are now partnering to push crowdfunded indie graphic novels and comics beyond their fundraising stage. As a result, some of the best graphic novels could experience even more sales than ever before.

Kickstarter and Bookshop Aren’t Just Publishing Indie Graphic Novels – But It’s Their Biggest Draw.

Kickstarter Bookshop, SFSX: Terms of Service, Blanco: The Truth Will Set You Free, Marco Lopez, David Brame, Tina Horn, Image Comics, Puerto Rico Strong, Eisner Awards, LAMBDA (Image Via Kickstarter)

The new joint site, called Kickstarter Publishing (powered by Bookshop), has several curated lists already. There are novels, children’s picture books, cookbooks, and, of course, comics. So far, the comics and graphic novel list contains 48 books. Some of them flew way under the radar, but others have become giant hits. For instance, the series that Warner Bros is adapting, Black. In fact, Black actually helped launch one of the best new imprints in comics, Black Mask. But it started as a Kickstarter before it ever saw the inside of a bookstore. Now, Kickstarter Publishing will help books as popular as Black. But they are also promoting lesser-known titles, such as Katrina Hates the Dead boost their sales and audience.

But some titles are already on backorder. It’s been about two days, Cyber Force: Rebirth and September Mourning.

Awesome Things Currently Crowdfunding That Will Hopefully Come to the New Store

There are hundreds of projects on Kickstarter, but there are two really exciting. Firstly, a new graphic novel from Eisner Winner Marco Lopez and artist David Brame, Blanco Volume One: The Truth Shall Set You Free. As Lopez describes on the page:

SFSX: Terms of Service, Blanco: The Truth Will Set You Free, Marco Lopez, David Brame, Tina Horn, Image Comics, Puerto Rico Strong, Eisner Awards, LAMBDA (Image Via Kickstarter)

In a post-apocalyptic future where man has long since been gone, and medieval kingdoms control their people with an iron fist, religious rule is the order of the day. And Blanco is one of the most beloved warriors in the kingdom of the seraph Azrael.

He and his brother Cane hunt the heretics who dare defy their father’s law. Zealots of a new apocryphal belief that is spreading across the Five Kingdoms and the Middling Lands.

When Blanco discovers a band of heretics is heading through the Outer Zone to a safe haven, they call New Eden. He decides to make an example of them, but what he finds in the Outer Zone will literally change his perception of the world he lives in.

Secondly, there’s LAMBDA Literary Fellow Tina Horn’s sequel to her outstanding Image Comic series SFSX, SFSX Volume Two: Terms of Service. As Horn describes the series:

Kickstarter Bookshop, SFSX: Terms of Service, Blanco: The Truth Will Set You Free, Marco Lopez, David Brame, Tina Horn, Image Comics, Puerto Rico Strong, Eisner Awards, LAMBDA (Image Via Kickstarter)

After their previous adventures in sex, love, and torture left them separated and traumatized, our Dirty Mind heroes must face new state sanctioned nightmares in SfSx: Terms of Service.

ToS brings the same combination of sensual thrills, fetish imagination, and political subtext that fans of SfSx have come to love. Both a continuation of the series’ world-building and a stand-alone graphic novel, this intelligent and colorful dystopian satire is perfect for fans of Ex Machina, “San Junipero,” and Pose.

We can’t wait to see what other indie graphic novels come to the Kickstarter Bookshop page. Hopefully, it will lead people to discover even more wonderful comics.

Featured Image Via Kickstarter

COMICSIndependent

Roman Colombo finished his MFA in 2010 and now teaches writing and graphic novel literature at various Philadelphia colleges. His first novel, Trading Saints for Sinners, was published in 2014. He's currently working on his next novel and hoping to find an agent soon.

BlancoKickstarterMarco LopezSFSXTina Horn

Leave a comment

Related

Marvel
Great News Marvel® Fans: CGC Comics Announces Special Marvel Labels

Marvel Entertainment, LLC the owners of Marvel Comics®, recently licensed Certified Guaranty Company® (CGC®) with rights to create certification labels that will feature some of the most iconic characters of Marvel. Marvel legend characters that […]

BY Randy Brooks March 12, 2019
Marvel
Serial Box: Partnering with Marvel to Tell New Serialized Stories of your Comic Book Superheroes

Image Credits to Jose Maria Miñarro Vivanco Serial Box is a publishing firm that has managed to gain the public’s attention by telling stories in several new ways. The firm is now focusing on telling […]

BY Randy Brooks March 11, 2019
Marvel Fans, Celebrate! CGC comics has announced Special Marvel Labels

Certified Guaranty Company, i.e, CGC is a grading company for comics. They announced that Marvel Entertainment LLC has granted it rights to create a lineup of certification labels featuring the most iconic Marvel characters – […]

BY Randy Brooks March 13, 2019